A gluten free diet is a diet that restricts the use of wheat and wheat products, barley, malt and rye. The use of gluten may be restricted due to a gluten sensitivity, or celiac disease
. Gluten is possibly associated with quite a few other illnesses in the human body. Some neurological illnesses might be caused and/or exacerbated by gluten in the diet. The following brain disorders show improvement on a gluten-free diet:
- Schizophrenia: A certain type of of schizophrenia patients has huge improvements by removing gluten.
- Autism: Large studies have suggested that people diagnosed with autism have an improvement in their symptoms with a gluten-free diet .
- Epilepsy: There have been many incidences of patients that have epilepsy having significant improvement when removing gluten from their diets.
In addition, celiac disease has been associated with many other serious diseases, most having little to do with digestion.
The following foods and food ingredients are considered to be gluten free: Food that doesn’t contain gluten:
Corn (corn flour, corn meal, grits,etc.). Rice (white, brown, basmati and enriched rice). Also,buckwheat, amaranth, Montina, quinoa, teff, millet, sorghum and soy. The ingredients:
Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin (even when it is made from wheat), oat gum, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch and vinegar (only malt vinegar might contain gluten). Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca flour or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla. These foods:
Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt and vegetable oils including canola. Plain fruits, vegetables, (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, eggs, nuts, beans and legumes and flours made from them. Distilled vinegar
is gluten free. (See malt vinegar under NO below). Distilled alcoholic beverages
are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely, if ever, happens. Mono and diglycerides
are fats and are gluten free. Spices
are gluten free. If there is no ingredient list on the container, it contains only the pure spice noted on the label.